more of 2013

Well I’ve been trying to occupy my time productively in 2013 and try to get some things done that I probably won’t have time for when I get back to the masters.

I manged to go to The Natural History Museum in the middle of the Easter Holidays. That involved a lot of bad planning on my part. So much time to chose from an I decide on a time when lots of other people would be going there so that you need to fight to see some exhibits.

DSC02848

I made it down to Bodium Castle despite some rather suspect directions. I had not been there since I was little and really enjoyed looking round the castle and the grounds.

DSC03222

I have been trying to go the gym regularly and exercise often to get some strength back since the operations. I have been avoiding some exercises which focus on the abdominals at the gym but at home I have been doing some easy abdominal exercises and trying to build up gradually. I have been swimming more in the past few months than I had been in may be the past 10 years. Swimming is great though I can only do about 10 lengths and need little breaks between lengths sometimes. It is great exercise. I have been getting back into meditation though am not quite in the habit since my trip to Northern Ireland.

At the end of April I went to Northern Ireland to see the Giant’s Causeway, I also pent a couple of days in Belfast.

Belfast City Hall

Belfast City Hall

At Carrick A Rede on the Causeway Coastline

At Carrick A Rede on the Causeway Coastline

I had always wanted to see the Giant’s Causeway and this seemed like a good time. The Causeway and the surrounding landscape is incredibly beautiful. There are lots of sites to see besides the Causeway itself, I did not manage to see them all. I did do some hiking in the local area but I spent three nights near the Causeway so there is still lots to go back and explore. I spent a couple of nights in Belfast as well and it is a very interesting city. If you have any interest in recent history the tours concerning the troubles of Ireland’s union with England are very interesting. A very serious and not the happiest of subjects but very interesting.

Just one of the many picture I took of The Giant's Causeway

Just one of the many picture I took of The Giant’s Causeway

I have also been to Glastonbury recently. Again this is another place in Britain which I had never been to before I feel I really need to go to again. As I am still loosing tack of time at the moment and not always sure what day it is I ended up in Glastonbury on 1st May not realising that there would be celebrations for Beltane until I got there. I followed the Beltane procession to the field where they would be raising the May Pole. The procession and the celebrations were fun and an interesting thing to see but I did not stay to see the May Pole being raised as there ended up being a lot of talking about the celebrations and the sun and energy. While this was interesting I was only in Glastonbury for the day and I wanted to climb the Tor and see the Abbey. Both of which are amazing and beautiful. The views from the top of the tor are amazing.

Glastonbury Tor

Glastonbury Tor

Glastonbury Abbey

Glastonbury Abbey

In other sports related news. My brother entered us into a doubles tennis tournament. I had forgotten about this till we had to play a match for it. The match was on Monday. It was fun even if we did get beaten. I always forget how exhausting tennis is. We were beaten 6-2, 6-1. The strange coincidence about the match was that one of the people in the other pair had also suffered from ulcerative colitis. He was quite a bit older than me and had spent longer with UC before he had the operation but said that he did not regret it. His biggest regret was waiting so long to have the surgery. He has a W pouch rather than a J pouch. I can’t remember how long ago his operation was but I think it was several years. He is fit and healthy and plays tennis regularly (he is very good) and has a family, so the surgery should not stop you doing anything.

I also went to a meeting being held by my local group of the Crohn’s and Colitis UK charity. The meeting was interesting and it was good to meet people who also suffer from IBD. Two of the main things I took out of the meeting was to look into getting a probiotic called VSL (I might need to double check this). The probiotic is supposed to help with people who have had pouch surgery carried out. The other thing from the meeting which I remember is that the dietitian who gave a small talk said that there is no proven benefit from fish oils to those who suffer from IBD.

Anyway I hope everyone is enjoying 2013 and I am sorry to anyone who has been the recipient of the bad mood I was in the past few days.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “more of 2013

Leave a Reply

