2013 so far

It may take me a while to get to grips with sorting out this blog stuff.

On the whole 2013 has been much better than 2011 and 2012. Spending most of the past two years feeling like rubbish and having food poisoning like symptoms nearly every day because of ulcerative colitis (UC) has made things a little difficult. I spent a lot of time thinking what I would like to do once I was better, this mainly involved seeing my friends and being more active (going outside).

I will write something going into more detail about my illness and the operations. I will try to be a concise as possible here. If you don’t like talk of poo it would be best not to read about UC or Crohn’s disease which is similar. I develop UC at the end of 2010 and it was pretty bad throughout 2011 and 2012. UC is a type of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) which are auto immune diseases. The main symptoms are similar to severe food poisoning and you need to be very close to a toilet a lot of the time as it can be like projectile vomiting from the back passage. I tried medical treatments which largely involve immune suppressants and anti inflammatories. I also tried dietary treatments as a possible cause for IBD is thought to be diet and lifestyle as well as genetic factors. For me I think genetic factors played more of a part than other factors as I was healthy before the illness. As it was becoming more obvious that dietary treatments and medical treatments weren’t really working, I made the very difficult decision of opting for surgery to treat my disease. The surgery involved removing my large intestine as this is where the disease is active if you suffer from UC. So I had a major operation on 30th October 2012 and then had another operation on 27th November 2012. I was supposed to have two operations but not so close together I was having complications from the first operations so the second was brought forward. Since then my recovery has been good.

Sorry it is not easy to give a brief description of IBD. I will write something going into my own personal experience of UC and discuss the surgery in more detail as well. Again if you do not like discussions of bodily functions or mention of blood, vomit and especially poo it would be best not to read anything I write about IBD the or the surgery. I will try to keep discussions off poo out of my main posts but it may happen as poo has played quite a major part in my life over the past two years.

Back to 2013 being a good year so far. I have been able to leave the house more often…which is nice. I was able to go up to Milton Keynes to see my friends and companions in the Sillybuggeryness RC…there was sillyness, not much from me as I was still a bit nervous around people.

 

DSC_0007

 

I went up to Derby to see some of my friends who I had not been able to visit in a long time. While I was up there it snowed which made the Peak District very picturesque. I was able to climb up Mam Tor, this took me longer than it would have when I was fit, but I was very proud to be able to climb it as this was something that would have been impossible while suffering from UC. The snow and the wind made the climb difficult as well, but the view was amazing. I also went to Arbor Low with my friends. Again this was very windy but it was great to see it and be outside.

DSC02769

 

 

I have been trying to regain my strength and build up my fitness. It will be a while before I can run the marathon or try a triathlon. I have been on a  couple of bike rides, these have been very short but it is a start. I have been trying some stretching and can almost touch my toes again without bending my legs. I will let my stomach muscles have more time to heal before I start doing yoga again. I really enjoyed yoga. It was a very relaxing an soothing activity. Some of the positions may have put my body under tension but I would always find that I was both mentally and physically relaxed after practicing yoga. If you do it properly you always feel great afterwards.

I have made a list of things I want to do this year. I think I may mention them once they are done rather than list them now.

I am looking forward to getting back to playing with my band. I will put up some links to our music asap…we’re pretty good when we are able to be in the same place!

I had to take a break from my masters in environmental archaeology as well due to UC so I should be getting back to that now that I am on the mend.

Sorry that was a much longer blog entry than I had intended. I sometimes have a tendency to ramble, mainly when I am writing stuff. I also get told off a lot for mumbling so it is a good thing I am writing this down. I am dyslexic as well so if you notice any spelling mistakes or grammatical errors that is probably the reason.

 

Leave a Reply

